Tamiasciurus hudsonicus

DSCN0440

There are many things I wish to say, usually from 10 to 20 feet away. Noisy I’m heard, look it’s not a bird. I have a favorite eat-on stump, spruce and pine cone shucks by bushel piles dump.                   Photo: J Renzoni

 

DSCN0437

Four to six inches of bushy tail, 7-8 inches body to nose  … active all year, I don’t doze. Tufts on my ears,  in the winter part of the years. Tunnels in the snow … you never know where I’ll go.

DSCN0438

Paler fur in winter yellowish or reddish…. belly is whitish. Twenty teeth … good grief.  I’m a fellow out in day, but occasionally out at night … what can I say.                     photo: J. Renzoni

 

DSCN0439

My home range is 200 yards across or less,  up to 10 of us per acre – less is best. Territorial quite memorable. Mating in Feb – Mar … now, and again in June – July, holy cow.  Thirty-eight days later 2-7 little ones I can’t deny.                  Photo: J. Renzoni

DSCN0435

For up to 10 years, almost anything I eat … seeds, nuts, eggs, fungi, but not meat … and store it too. Red Squirrel (Spruce Squirrel) 7 – 8.75 oz, too small for squirrel stew.      Photo: J. Renzoni

About jeaninerenzoni

Camera toting, dog trainer, cat trainer, horse trainer, flower gardener, book reader, always finding something new to be interested in and research. My newest undertaking is my new pup and all the training that goes with raising him. I must get back to painting watercolors in my art room. Finished and looking for new ones in the library's DVD collection. About me ... Dog trainer for over 40 years, multiple obedience titles on many dogs, showed in conformation, ran a grooming shop, trained lots of people and dogs. Also have a BS Nutrition, CRD, CTM, AKC CGC evaluator, was NAHQ, was licensed in life/health insurance, long-term care consultant for 25+ years, Covey facilitator, team trainer, project manager, R+ trainer for people, etc ... you could say I believe in qualifications variety.
This entry was posted in humor, Life, nature, outdoors, photography, Poetry, Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

It would be great to hear from you!

