Wind Chill 30 below … active northern birds

If I were a bird I think I’d fly south for the winter … but maybe not. Maybe the snow is exhilarating (that would be one word for it), maybe black sunflower seeds are so much tastier than warm, mushy southern bugs (I can believe that) or non-challenging seeds. Maybe it just doesn’t seem that cold (mmm-shiver). Maybe darting in and out is more satisfying than roasting in excessive heat. I don’t know, but then I stay up north in Wisconsin in the winter too.

DSCN0034

Blue Jay (Cyanocitta cristata) … big, blue and loves sunflower seeds.

DSCN0056

Black-capped Chickadee (Parus atricapillus) Friendly birds, curious … this one is up on the suet on top of the bird feeder.

DSCN0058

Northern Cardinal (Cardinalis cardinalis) male … they like to eat sunflower seeds.

I was gifted with a new camera (Nikon Coolpix S9900, small, yet very versatile) for my birthday last week, I’m still a novice with it – which means I get frustrated when the focus lever needs to go the opposite way my old camera’s did or when I can’t find a feature quickly… or at all when I want it. Ah the joys of learning. But, sitting inside trying to catch birds at the bird feeder is pretty sweet … I drink some tea when the cat decides to help me watch them, in this case he came over and up- chucked … hair ball and spider plant leaves, but I’m tough, it didn’t phase me. DSCN0045 DSCN0051 DSCN0050 DSCN0062

Cardinals are brilliant, but Blue Jays … so cool.

About jeaninerenzoni

Camera toting, dog trainer, cat trainer, horse trainer, flower gardener, book reader, always finding something new to be interested in and research. My newest undertaking is my new pup and all the training that goes with raising him. I must get back to painting watercolors in my art room. Finished and looking for new ones in the library's DVD collection. About me ... Dog trainer for over 40 years, multiple obedience titles on many dogs, showed in conformation, ran a grooming shop, trained lots of people and dogs. Also have a BS Nutrition, CRD, CTM, AKC CGC evaluator, was NAHQ, was licensed in life/health insurance, long-term care consultant for 25+ years, Covey facilitator, team trainer, project manager, R+ trainer for people, etc ... you could say I believe in qualifications variety.
This entry was posted in bird photo, nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

It would be great to hear from you!

