Hay Field, robins and horses

It’s Friday afternoon, a sunny beautiful day beginning Memorial weekend. I walked out my backdoor and thought the horses looked stunning in front of the neighbor’s hay-field, which is (unlucky for him) blooming in mustard flowers.

Photo taken from ground level and cropped to remove some extraneous foreground.

Photo taken from ground level and cropped to remove some extraneous foreground.

I took some photos from the ground level feeling grumpy about the fencing and the shrubs and the raised garden beds wanting to get in my way.

Photo taken from 10 feet up (deck).

Photo taken from ground level, more telephoto.

So I went up on the deck. Which raised my angle, but maybe not enough to make a significant difference. Except the foreground miscellaneous shrubbery was no longer a problem. Then upon looking at my screen I felt the span of the field was really the most interesting part of the scene.

Same 10 foot up view, landscape setting, no telephoto and cropped to highlight the spread of the field.

Same 10 foot up view, landscape setting, no telephoto and cropped to highlight the spread of the field.

A very pastoral scene, so quiet (except for the robins who feel I am too close to their nest and are making a major racket). So I went to investigate and found out the babies were leaving the nest. Only one remained and as it saw me looking at it, decided it was time to take flight.

Fledgling decided, despite days and days of me walking under this same spot, now is the time to abandon the nest..

Fledgling decided, despite days and days of me walking under this same spot by the dog kennels, now is the time to abandon the nest..

First it clambered up and out and perched between a support and the metal roof.

First it clambered up and out and perched between a support and the metal roof.

Then making the decision it wasn't a good enough location...

Then making the decision it wasn’t a good enough spot…

Out onto the horn to launch, briefly flying with parental encouragement and landing in the raspberry patch to rest.

Out onto the horn to launch, briefly flying with parental encouragement or maybe threats and landing in the raspberry patch to rest. Wow, caught the takeoff.

Now to help out, at least temporarily, a happy ending. I will keep the dogs in for several hours to give the fledglings a chance to find better spots to perch, or somewhere I don’t see their demise. And hope whatever eats them is actually hungry.

And with that … have a great Memorial Day weekend.

About jeaninerenzoni

Camera toting, dog trainer, cat trainer, horse trainer, flower gardener, book reader, always finding something new to be interested in and research. My newest undertaking is my new pup and all the training that goes with raising him. I must get back to painting watercolors in my art room. Finished and looking for new ones in the library's DVD collection. About me ... Dog trainer for over 40 years, multiple obedience titles on many dogs, showed in conformation, ran a grooming shop, trained lots of people and dogs. Also have a BS Nutrition, CRD, CTM, AKC CGC evaluator, was NAHQ, was licensed in life/health insurance, long-term care consultant for 25+ years, Covey facilitator, team trainer, project manager, R+ trainer for people, etc ... you could say I believe in qualifications variety.
This entry was posted in bird photo, horses, Life, nature, outdoors, perspective, photography, Wester Ave., Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

It would be great to hear from you!

