Apply Yourself

Yup, I did it. There was a horse club party last night and I made up a song, played it and sang it. IN FRONT OF THEM PEOPLE!

Prior to singing/guitar playing in front of 'People' debut, I wore a horse mask.

Me in horse mask!

I brought along that rubber horse mask my brother gave me for Christmas, it seemed the right time to wear it. It’s got these white rimmed eyes, open horse-y mouth and laid back ears. It’s not a horse you’d want to ride.

Ah, yeah, I was nervous and they laughed at the right times because the song was funny. I chose easy chord progressions and it was simple. Its hard enough to just sing in front of a group, add fingerings and it’s potentially disaster. Actually, with all the practice I could’ve played it without music, but back a long time ago in high school I was doing A level on bassoon – which means it must be memorized for competition – and I blanked out at division level. I mean I couldn’t remember what note to start on and we were already into the piece. The very nice woman accompanying me on piano tried restarting that segment, but nothing. I had no idea, nothing. I had to just tell them I couldn’t remember. Ever since then, even if I’ve memorized the music I want a copy in front of me.

So anyway, my guitar debut in front of a crowd, yippee! It was good and they were fun, which was the best. I don’t know exactly how many people, the guy that I was roasting with my song wasn’t there for the first rendition, but he got there when everything was winding down and so I did a reprise. He sat right close and I sang to him…too funny.

Somebody said I did better with more alcohol, but actually all I had was a beer, well two.

Well I Heard There Was A Secret Chord.... (4/3...

Mostly it was less nerves the second time around. And the horse head…got to get into the persona of a ‘I don’t care, I’m singing, you’ll enjoy it!’ performer.

Next I guess since I’ve got a classical guitar, maybe classical music. I always liked Spanish guitar. My fingers are going to need to move faster and stretch further and get stronger, oh dear.

Any performers with a kind of bad experience haunting you?

About jeaninerenzoni

Camera toting, dog trainer, cat trainer, horse trainer, flower gardener, book reader, always finding something new to be interested in and research. My newest undertaking is my new pup and all the training that goes with raising him. I must get back to painting watercolors in my art room. Finished and looking for new ones in the library's DVD collection. About me ... Dog trainer for over 40 years, multiple obedience titles on many dogs, showed in conformation, ran a grooming shop, trained lots of people and dogs. Also have a BS Nutrition, CRD, CTM, AKC CGC evaluator, was NAHQ, was licensed in life/health insurance, long-term care consultant for 25+ years, Covey facilitator, team trainer, project manager, R+ trainer for people, etc ... you could say I believe in qualifications variety.
This entry was posted in Challenge, humor, Life, music, singing, writing, writing challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apply Yourself

  1. silentglide says:

    I was sitting right across from you and thought it was great. The first few little mess-ups were totally understandable and you could see that on everyone’s face as they said to themselves, wow, I wish I could do that.

It would be great to hear from you!

