Trying to catch the elusive chickadee – the caped crusaders win again

Their taunting dee-dee-dee cries, warning all other little black caped crusaders to stay away from that yummy peanut butter encrusted photo lure because the photographer is lurking. Key word photographer, otherwise they don’t seem to care.I made a fake gingerbread house bird feeder to try to get the Chickadees to sit still long enough for my slow digital.

I made a fake gingerbread house bird feeder to try to get the Chickadees to sit still long enough for my slow digital efforts.

They initially made several forays in, landed in the shrubbery, dashed to the feeder but didn’t eat, moving constantly and flipping away. Then they realized I was trying to capture them – digitally.

This bird feeder came about because we had a  – make a gingerbread house over a 8 oz. carton of milk contest, at work. I don’t particularly like gingerbread houses. And my husband, seeing the empty milk carton on the counter, garbaged it.

So after some thoughts about skipping the contest entirely I came up with using a heel of homemade bread the size of the fated milk carton, smearing it with peanut butter and then using the various grains and seeds we had on hand, plus some dog biscuits to create a version for the birds.

Caught one, barely.

Caught one, barely.

For the indoor contest I added a branch with a beanie blue jay on top, so it hung outside the corner of my cubicle, daring people to knock it off. I didn’t see sunflower seeds on the carpet, so either the resident mice cleaned up or the plate worked.

Outside, after standing, as still as I could for 64 breaths (I didn’t want to move to look at my watch) and becoming really chilled, it’s 6F, I gave up, for now.   This isn’t the first time those Chickadees have thwarted my photographic efforts. They seem strangely camera shy.

Oatmeal roofing tiles, craisin soffits, whole wheat noodle perch.

Oatmeal roofing tiles, craisin soffits, whole wheat noodle perch.

Do you like Gingerbread houses? Should I give up my pursuit of the Chickadees?  I see them all the time. And are they telling me where to go in bird language?

 

About jeaninerenzoni

Camera toting, dog trainer, cat trainer, horse trainer, flower gardener, book reader, always finding something new to be interested in and research. My newest undertaking is my new pup and all the training that goes with raising him. I must get back to painting watercolors in my art room. Finished and looking for new ones in the library's DVD collection. About me ... Dog trainer for over 40 years, multiple obedience titles on many dogs, showed in conformation, ran a grooming shop, trained lots of people and dogs. Also have a BS Nutrition, CRD, CTM, AKC CGC evaluator, was NAHQ, was licensed in life/health insurance, long-term care consultant for 25+ years, Covey facilitator, team trainer, project manager, R+ trainer for people, etc ... you could say I believe in qualifications variety.
This entry was posted in creating, photography, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

It would be great to hear from you!

